Blogging Newbie

Here I am (after years of putting it off), writing my first blog post of the year, and well… ever! Since the beginning of time… Well, since the beginning of my time, I have always had that creative “spark”, whether it be in my writing or being creative in general. As a young girl, you would think that I would have had a diary to write my inner-most thoughts and feelings that at a young age would have experienced-secret crushes, how my life wasn’t fair because my parents wouldn’t let me stay at me bff’s house, or the usual gossip a young female adolescent would be involved in. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. I despised, loathed, antagonized writing in a diary! Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love journals and diaries (collecting the pretty ones), I just don’t like writing in them on a consistent basis. Every year, I would ask for a new diary or journal and divulge myself into writing in it-on a daily basis. I would convince myself and stay persistent for about a week or two, and then all of a sudden, my writing would completely stop. The journal would sit on my shelf or stuffed in a drawer for months, even years, until I would stumble upon it and either give it away or trash it.

It wasn’t until my eighth grade year in middle school that I started believing in my passion for writing. We would get assigned creative writing assignments that involved narratives, persuasive, and poetry pieces. Due to my English teacher being a very eccentric and well-rounded individual, I was given the opportunity to take classes with a close friend of hers who was a poet and  all-around very inspirational writer. Sadly, I don’t even remember her name. You would think that for being someone who inspired me, I would have remember her name, right? It’s unfortunate that I don’t. But, like I was saying, this individual would come and teach the class, two or so days a week. She would have her examples and exercises ready for us, explaining how to write specific creative writing pieces. Towards the end of her writing course, I had accumulated a good amount of poetry pieces that I still have!!! I’m actually surprised that I still have these pieces of work, considering the amount of times that I have moved from one home to another. Looking back on this opportunity, I am more appreciative and thankful for those adults in my life who I didn’t give enough credit to during my adolescent and teenage years.

I still couldn’t convince myself to write in a journal on a consistent basis until a couple of my friends introduced me to a website called Xanga. I’m not too sure if it’s still around today, but it was basically an online journal with the additional music playlist and html codes that you can use to make it fit your personality. I was addicted to this website-once I got home from school and completed my homework, I would be updating and tweaking it until my parents yelled at me to go to bed. It was just as popular as Instagram and Facebook in the early 2000’s. This website was literally my online diary- I would write my feelings and whatever else was on my adolescent mind at the time. Looking back on that time, I guess you can say that I was actually blogging.

As I got into high school, my writing skills developed tremendously, but there was still no consistent journal writing. The online diary was over and done with, I moved on to taking pictures and capturing moments, rather than writing everything down. I regret not keeping a journal/diary throughout my teen years, where my emotions were unstable and I was angry at the world all the damn time for no particular reason (excuse my French). It would have helped me understand my feelings, but nope- I was a lazy and procrastinating individual, two qualities that I still struggle with in adulthood.

I feel like this was more of a rant that an actual blog post?

Well, to finish this post off, my intentions were to explain how I came to the point of dipping my toes into the freezing water of blogging, so to speak. For one, I enjoy creative writing and the abundance of topics that I can write about excites me. At this moment and as I type, my confidence in blogging is beginning to surpass what I intentionally started out with- 0 confidence to be specific. My intentions that I have for my readers are to inspire, create, and fill each and everyone of your lives with a little bit of happiness, humor, and of course, interesting information- on health, beauty, fashion, travel, education, philosophy or life in general. My goal is to inspire and to be inspired. Simple as that.

As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other for helping others.” – Audrey Hepburn

Love to you all,

Vanessa Dawn

One thought on “Blogging Newbie

Leave a Reply

